Wherever I may ROAM … the great affair is to MOVE

“Wherever I may roam, where I lay my head is home” – Metallica

On a speedboat in Mauritius

On a speedboat in Mauritius

I have always been excited to be at the New Delhi railway station early in the morning

I have always been excited to be at the New Delhi railway station early in the morning

I feel exactly like this song from one of my favourite bands Metallica because of my love for travelling. I love airports, railway stations, bus stations, road trips or any other mode which takes me to a new destination. Like George Clooney’s character in the movie Up in the Air I like to be in the air too and start getting withdrawal symptoms if I am stranded at my hometown for several days. Now I am not a vagabond and I have a family & business to look after so I have to restrict my travels at times, but the best part is when I travel for work and not feel guilty or better now when I take a luxury vacation with family to rejuvenate my soul.

Amazing Steak at a diner - Newark Airport, USA

Amazing Steak at a diner – Newark Airport, USA

Times Square - New York, USA

Times Square – New York, USA

Early morning flower vendor on Dal Lake - Kashmir

Early morning flower vendor on Dal Lake – Kashmir

Fishermen returning with their catch - Backwaters, Kerala

Fishermen returning with their catch – Backwaters, Kerala

I have heard a lot of people “complain” about travelling too much. Sometimes I presume it is just to show off, “Hey look, I travel a lot on someone else’s (most probably there company’s) money and you can’t”. “There is no place like home” and though I agree with the phrase completely, I am of the belief that you appreciate your home only when you travel often. I on the other hand love to write about my travels and love to take pictures.  Words give me the power to imagine and an image can very simply take me back to the place and let me relive those moments. Even though I am not a professional photographer (not even an amateur one, though I like to think so), but I love to shoot with my camera more so when I travel and share it with people who care. I have done quite a few places and I love them all, each one has been an experience which I would love to share here but scared you might doze off. So, I would talk a little about what are my favourite kinds of travels.

Fishtail resort in the middle of a lake - Pokhra, Nepal

Fishtail resort in the middle of a lake – Pokhra, Nepal

The Rock - Alcatraz prison in the middle of the bay - San Francisco, USA

The Rock – Alcatraz prison in the middle of the bay – San Francisco, USA

Travel for Fun – Pristine beaches, vast ocean, high mountains, tropical rain forests, adventure sports, driving around through the streets, each form a part of an exciting and new holiday destination. Every time I think about a new destination my adrenalin starts pumping and I feel the excitement of exploring something new. Though there might have been thousands of visitors to places I visit and I might have seen hundreds of pictures of the area, the rush which I feel by actually visiting the place has no comparison. Being from a country like India, I actually get to explore a lot of cities and places within my own country with diverse cultures and topography. But travelling out of the country also has its fair share of thrills. I have no presumptions while travelling and do not travel with a specific frame of mind (as long as my bookings are in place) to any destination. I love to explore what the locals do and try it out even though I am a tourist for them.

Shore Temple - Mahabalipuram

Shore Temple – Mahabalipuram

One of the many Buddhist Monasteries in Ladakh

One of the many Buddhist Monasteries in Ladakh

Business Travel – There is not a better high than to witness your design form into creations, my love for creating and designing combined with my passion for travelling, takes me places for work. Though on work it’s mostly meeting people and visiting work areas, but you tend to get a feel of the streets, the street furniture, you tend to use the local transport more if you are in a place for a longer time, you get to meet a lot of local people, eat local food and basically blend into the place. Travelling for work has double the benefits as you tend not to feel guilty at times that you are neglecting work for pleasure.

From Market Street - San Francisco

From Market Street – San Francisco

The Loop, Chicago

The Loop, Chicago

Road Trips – I love to drive whether I am in India or any other part of the world. My major road trips though have been on the Indian highways which have been notorious in the past. I would not say that they are world class but there has been a marginal improvement in terms of the quality of the roads, though the quality of traffic I am still unsure about. So if you are a foreigner to India and not very adventurous, my advice to you would be “Don’t try to get behind the wheel on the highway”. But, you can always travel with someone who knows his way around these places. I personally prefer to drive to a destination which is within 500 kms of my hometown and believe me a country is best witnessed on the roads, the kind of colour and variety you see on the (especially on Indian) roads is incomparable to any other form of travel. So even if you can’t drive in India & you meet a good driver with a well maintained car I would advice to take a road trip in India even if it is for a short distance of 100kms.

Driving on Indian highways can be tricky

Driving on Indian highways can be tricky

Driving through a freshly snowed road in Wisconsin, USA

Driving through a freshly snowed road in Wisconsin, USA

I have friends who have walked through cities, taken cross-country trains, driven to the highest motor-able road in the world and enjoyed the journey more than the destination reinforcing my belief that the great affair is to move.

A windy night in Chicago

A windy night in Chicago

The Venetian, Las Vegas

The Venetian, Las Vegas

I want to read the whole book, as a famous saying goes by St. Augustine, “The world is a book, and those who do not travel read only a page”

About askmaverick

Architect, Entreprenuer, Traveller, Movie buff, Amateur Photographer, Foodie .... do I need to say more!
This entry was posted in Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wherever I may ROAM … the great affair is to MOVE

  1. Chinha says:

    Fellow Sagi! First, hi five! You share my love for travel, and for exactly the same reasons! How cool is that?!
    Second, wow you can write! Loved the way you express in such simple words.
    Third, next time, try Salem-Bangalore highway. We did 140 kmph without breaking a sweat. Beautiful countryside, makkhan road. No traffic! Perfect!

    • askmaverick says:

      Hi five to you too ,,, haha … first thank you for those kind words. I have always been a traveller at heart and love it … plus I am not surprised that you share the same passion .. will definitely take up the Salem Bangalore highway sometime in the future … love Indian roads the hidden treasures you discover while driving through them. Thanks again 🙂

Leave a Reply

