G.I.Joe: Retaliation …… Yo Joe!!

G.I.Joe for me is not just a movie. It is part of our growing up culture, when my younger brother and I used to collect their action figures (some 25 years back) and recreate the battle scenes between the Joes and Cobra’s army in our bedroom. Boys and their toys are inseparable even when they grow up into Men and when the first part of the series G.I.Joe: The Rise of Cobra was released, it was like a dream come true to watch our action figures doing live action on the big screen. This was another reason why I took my son to watch it with me and he gladly shared the passion.

G.I.Joe: Retaliation is more of a continuation rather than a standalone story

G.I.Joe: Retaliation is more of a continuation rather than a standalone story

G.I.Joe: Retaliation is the second part of the series (I am hoping there would be many more in the making) and a lot of people might not share my passion but I was still in awe of the movie and the action sequences. You have to realize that when you are going to watch a movie about the most elite fighting force (as the Joes are called) in the world, action (well actually over the top action) is the only thing you can expect and don’t complain about it (like most of the intelligent critics are after watching the movie). To like a movie of this genre you have to have the passion for action and love the Joes. My suggestion … don’t watch it if you are not a big action fan.

Yo ... Joe!!! The war cry

Yo … Joe!!! The war cry

The first part set some incredible precedents for the sequel both in terms of technology and action sequences. The chemistry between the characters in the first part was much more visible and enjoyable and I honestly admit, this was missing in the second part. Retaliation is based more on the internal threats faced by the force from the government while trying to fight the evil and battle the deceptive forces of Cobra. The movie takes you from the deserts of Pakistan to the mountains of Tibet, from underground high security prisons to a conference of World leaders (surprisingly India is also there in the top 7 nuclear powers of the world). The story starts with the Joes being compromised on a mission in Pakistan and the daring escape of Cobra commander from a high security prison. The plot is more a continuation in the lives of G.I.Joes who fight the hardest when hit the hardest. Zartan (the master of disguise in Cobra’s army) played by Arnold Vosloo is the mind behind the whole commotion and plays a pivotal role in the plot. The story is simple and the director has concentrated on the action sequences which seem to be the focus of this 3-D movie. The part where Snake Eyes kidnaps Storm Shadow from a monastery high up in the Himalayan Mountains has been brilliantly shot and the Ninjas fighting on the ropes lends an innovative touch to the whole sequence.

The action sequences especially the one shot in the mountains with Snake Eyes and the ninjas are brilliant

The action sequences especially the one shot in the mountains with Snake Eyes and the ninjas are brilliant

Dwayne “Rock” Johnson is fast proving to be a dependable action hero and looks the part of “RoadBlock” in the G.I.Joe Team. Sadly, you won’t see much of Channing Tatum, who plays Duke, in this one and I kept hoping for him to return. Lady Jaye makes an entry in to the G.I.Joe team played by Adrianne Palicki along with Flint played by D.J.Cotrona. Snake Eyes played by Ray Parker (though he hardly speaks or shows his face) is one of the most lovable characters (even as a kid he was my favorite and now he is my son’s favorite). The chemistry between Snake Eyes & Storm Shadow played by Byung-hun Lee, his nemesis, is electric and every time they share screen space you are bound to witness mind blowing action. I missed General Hawk but we did get General Colton played by Bruce Willis who seems to be getting old but still gets the one-liners.

The shooting match between Duke & Roadblock defines the chemistry between them

The shooting match between Duke & Roadblock defines the chemistry between them

The climax hints at the third part in the making and I hope they can better the first 2 parts in the next one. For all you G.I. Joe lovers …… Yo Joe!!!

About askmaverick

Architect, Entreprenuer, Traveller, Movie buff, Amateur Photographer, Foodie .... do I need to say more!
This entry was posted in Hollywood, Movie, Review, Television, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to G.I.Joe: Retaliation …… Yo Joe!!

  1. CMrok93 says:

    To its credit this is at peace with what it is: an over the top, unintelligent, loud, flashy, karate, explosion bonanza. Nothing more, nothing less. Nice review.

Leave a Reply

