Kashmir …… Heaven can wait!!!

I have been to Kashmir quite a few times in the past few years mostly because my work takes me there, but this is the second time I made a trip to the “heaven on earth” ever since I started writing on the blog.

The stunning landscape add to the picturesque beauty of the Valley

The stunning landscape add to the picturesque beauty of the Valley

The general feeling among the citizens of our country a few years ago, when I first visited, used to be one of extreme fear due to the long history of terrorism that haunted the valley since the 1980s. Even now whenever there is an incident involving Kashmir, people instantly become wary of visiting the place.

The permanent Glacier in Sonamarg is truly symbolic of the Stairway to Heaven

The permanent Glacier in Sonamarg is truly symbolic of the Stairway to Heaven

I have however felt differently about the place and no matter how many times I visit the beautiful valley, I am always impressed by Kashmir’s awe inspiring beauty. But what I say is no different as Kashmir has been described as heaven on earth since time immemorial in books and movies. The curse of terrorism though makes you feel that the valley has stood in time, ironically giving it a virgin beauty due to absence of commercialization.

The Sindh River flows along the National Highway 1 from Srinagar to Sonamarg and the Highway continues onwards to Kargil and Leh

The Sindh River flows along the National Highway 1 from Srinagar to Sonamarg and the Highway continues onwards to Kargil and Leh

Our resort site ... A perfect location to work

Our resort site … A perfect location to work

As much as the picturesque views of the valley, the gastronomical delights Kashmiri culture has to offer are unmatchable. I have had the good fortune of having food prepared in a Kashmiri household and believe me if you are non vegetarian food lover, you’d be spoilt for choice with what the Kashmiri Wazwan has too offer. Food transcends borders, religion and culture binding all genuine food lovers as friends. My friends from Kashmir believe in that & the hospitality extended to me is beyond words.

Authentic Kashmiri Wazwaan ... (clockwise from top) Roast chicken with potatoes, Chicken Biryani and Mutton Seekh Kebab, The king of all mutton dishes Gushtaba, Rice with Rogan Josh and Chicken curry ... a foodie delight

Authentic Kashmiri Wazwaan … (clockwise from top) Roast chicken with potatoes, Chicken Biryani and Mutton Seekh Kebab, The king of all mutton dishes Gushtaba, Rice with Rogan Josh and Chicken curry … a foodie delight

Whether it is the natural beauty, the food or the hospitality, Kashmir is truly blessed. It is however very sad, that due to a few selfish people and the hype created by the media, small events still continue to haunt this amazing culture and the valley continues to suffer for no fault of it.

The Dal Lake and its houseboats all spruced up for the tourist season

The Dal Lake and its houseboats all spruced up for the tourist season

Despite this, I would definitely suggest a trip to experience the hospitable culture, the stunning landscapes, the flawless natural beauty and the amazing food. My feelings are summed up in T-shirt slogan I saw a kid wearing … “I am in Kashmir, Heaven can wait”.

Breakfast in the Valley ... this definitely is heaven

Breakfast in the Valley … this definitely is heaven

(Note: All pictures have been taken through an iPhone camera)

About askmaverick

Architect, Entreprenuer, Traveller, Movie buff, Amateur Photographer, Foodie .... do I need to say more!
This entry was posted in Architecture, Food, India, Lifestyle, Motivation, Nature, Photography, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Kashmir …… Heaven can wait!!!

  1. Shama says:

    Its a very well written ode to what has been rightly called nature’s paradise. Your descriptions make one want to plan a trip almost immediately. However like you mentioned yourself there are a handful of people who propagate a certain ideology, unfortunately there are many in Kashmir who believe and follow it. Because of living in the Gulf region for the past two decades, I’ve met and known many Kashmiris. While they are wonderful people, they constantly use terms such as “Indian occupation” and “your Indian army” and much more. I do not know the ground realities there so I won’t judge them or their feelings. They may be justified. But I totally understand why many Indians don’t feel comfortable visiting. There are two sides to every coin. To each his own!
    On the upside- I loved your writing, so keep typing 🙂

    • askmaverick says:

      Shama, thank you for loving my writing and I hope I can keep on writing for encouraging friends like you. Your comment is very apt and people do feel wronged by the government and the terrorism alike. What I have come to feel is that they just want a normal life like the rest of the world rather than living under the constant shadow of terror from either side. My purpose however for writing this blog post is not highlight or justify anything but more on the part to encourage people to go an discover the place which is truly magical. As a citizen of my country I truly feel proud of Kashmir and am happy to see it bouncing back to normalcy. And you definitely should make a trip 🙂

      • Shama says:

        Totally agree and understand… for some reason the North of India has alluded me (barring that one trip when I was 15). I have Delhi and Rajasthan on my list first so Kashmir surely can’t be zeroed out. Cheers!

      • askmaverick says:

        Well you know who to get in touch with whenever you do, I can promise it would be worth the visit for sure 🙂

  2. jayantadeepa says:

    You said it! its the general perception of danger that has kept us away from this heaven. we so badly want to go to Kashmir, but this year, Srinagar has been on the boil again 😦

Leave a Reply

